8 hour course
Age Requirements: 21 years old and above
Cost $50 + $20 range fee
This class meets the standard requirements to obtain a license in the State of Oklahoma to legally conceal or open carry a firearm for self-defense purposes.
What is different from most other training providers is that Patrick Firearms offers small class sizes to increase effective training by allowing for more one-on-one personal instruction. This class is ideally suited for persons who already have some proficiency in handling and shooting a handgun. If you have no experience in shooting or handling a handgun, it is advisable that you take additional training in addition to this class. Call Patrick Firearms to discuss your needs and requirements.
Attending this Standard SDA Handgun License Course (sometime referred to as a “Concealed Carry” Class) is the first step in the process of getting an Oklahoma SDA Handgun License. To legally carry a loaded pistol, concealed or unconcealed, the state of Oklahoma requires you to complete a safety training course and classroom instruction on the Oklahoma Self Defense laws from a certified SDA Instructor.
In this course you will:
Learn Oklahoma self-defense law
Review safety and shooting fundamentals
Take the CLEET handgun safety exam
Demonstrate safety and competency with a pistol during practice and live-fire exercises
Upon successful completion, you will then submit your certificate of completion of this class with your application for an Oklahoma Handgun License (with appropriate fees and requirements).
Class Information / Requirements:
Be a United States citizen.
Be an Oklahoma resident. For purposes of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, the term "residency" shall apply to any person who either possesses a valid Oklahoma driver license or state photo identification card, and physically maintains a residence in this state or has permanent military orders within this state and possesses a valid driver license from another state where such person claims residency.
Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age.
Demonstrate competence and qualifications with the type of pistol to be carried.
Comply in good faith with the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, and meet the general requirements necessary to obtain the license.
50 rounds of factory ammunition are required for the pistol you intend to use. Eye and ear protection required, or can be provided at the local range.