10 hour course
Age Requirements: 21 years old and above
Cost $80 + $20 range fee
At Patrick Firearms – we approach obtaining a license to carry a firearm in Oklahoma in a different manner than most training providers. A portion of this class (8 hours) meets the standard requirements to obtain a license in the State of Oklahoma to legally conceal or open carry a firearm for self-defense purposes. In addition, Patrick Firearms offers more instruction and training. We add 2 additional hours which includes the NRA Pistol Marksmanship Simulator Training Course (see below for more details). At Patrick Firearms we believe it is very important to understand safe handling, storage and use of your firearm. This 2 hour portion of the class is taken in the evening (generally Tuesdays or Thursdays) before the 8 hour SDA portion.
By adding this additional NRA course, you will get much more instruction and practice in proper techniques for better shooting and additional reinforcements concerning safety. And – you will get an opportunity to practice your shooting techniques with a realistic laser simulated pistol before firing a live-fire pistol at the range. This gives you more confidence and experience. You will also get the opportunity (if you so desire) to see and handle different types of handguns and obtain advice on the best types of handguns for your particular needs.
Attending this SDA Handgun License Course (Concealed Carry Class) is the first step in the process of getting an Oklahoma Handgun License. To legally carry a loaded pistol, concealed or unconcealed, the state of Oklahoma requires you to complete a safety training course from a certified SDA Instructor.
In this course you will:
Learn about guns, their operation, their limitations, and proper safety, storage and cleaning
Learn Oklahoma self-defense law
Learn safety and shooting fundamentals both in simulated and live fire situations
Take the CLEET handgun safety exam
Demonstrate safety and competency with a pistol in practice and live-fire exercises
Use laser simulated practice pistols to better understand the fundamentals of shooting and safety
Upon successful completion you will then submit your certificate of completion of this class with your application for an Oklahoma Handgun License (with appropriate fees and requirements).
Class Information / Requirements:
Be a United States citizen.
Be an Oklahoma resident. For purposes of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, the term "residency" shall apply to any person who either possesses a valid Oklahoma driver license or state photo identification card, and physically maintains a residence in this state or has permanent military orders within this state and possesses a valid driver license from another state where such person claims residency.
Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age.
Demonstrate competence and qualifications with the type of pistol to be carried.
Comply in good faith with the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, and meet the general requirements necessary to obtain the license.
50 rounds of factory ammunition are required for the pistol you intend to use. Eye and ear protection required, or can be provided at the local range.